Kenya’s 2017 elections are set to be the countrys most interesting yet. The political landscape has shifted, and whatever else these elections turn out to be violent, peaceful, confusing ? they are going to a different kettle of fish to previous polls.

The most obvious reason for this is devolution. After the 2010 constitution was passed, Kenya restructured its political and legislative units, breaking 8 massive provinces into 47 counties made up of various wards. The national legislature was broken into two branches, establishing the roles of senator and governor. And the position of womens representatives was created in each county to help achieve the new constitutions gender quotas.

These changes also affected how elections work. In 2007, Kenyans voted at three levels: for a councillor, a member of parliament (MP), and a president. On 8 August2017, the electorate will vote at six: a member of the county assembly (MCA), a womens representative, an MP, a senator, a governor, and a president.

To continue reading click HERE